Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters Official Web Site Join OAB bar


About OAB

The OAB is a non-profit organization of over-the-air radio and television stations organized to serve the public interest and promote the cooperation and prosperity of its members. A 12-member Board of Directors governs the OAB.

A valuable resource for its members, the OAB provides information about regulation, advertising, employee recruitment, education and training, and the myriad of issues affecting our changing industry.

:: History

In 1948, a small group of Oklahoma radio broadcasters, sharing a common interest, banded together to form an association of radio broadcasters. In 1958, the organization was incorporated as the Oklahoma Broadcasters Association with a charter membership of 31 radio stations-30 AM and 1 FM.

In the early 1970s, a group of eight Oklahoma television stations formed the Oklahoma Telecasters Association, primarily for the purpose of fighting certain state tax issues. In 1983, the Oklahoma Telecasters Association merged with the Oklahoma Broadcasters Association. The name was changed to the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters in 1988.

Today, OAB membership numbers 152 radio stations, 29 television stations, 20 non-commercial/educational stations, and 28 associate members.

President & CEO
Vance Harrison

Vice President, Director of Operations
Nancy Struby

Operations Assistant
Susan Sundholm

Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters
6520 N. Western Avenue, Suite 104
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73116

Office Hours
8:30 a.m.–5:00 p.m. Monday-Friday.

(405) 848-0771

General information


Heston Wright Chair Wright Wradio, Weatherford/Cordell/Clinton
David Griffin Past Chair Griffin Communications, Oklahoma City/Tulsa
Wes Milbourn Treasurer KFOR-TV/KAUT-TV, Oklahoma City
Lee Anderson   Southeast Oklahoma Radio Group, McAlester
Pat Baldwin   KTUL-TV, Tulsa
Amy Calvert   KJRH-TV, Tulsa
Kim Dodds   Townsquare Media, Lawton
Brent Hensley   KOCO-TV, Oklahoma City
Will Payne   Payne Radio Group, Muskogee/Antlers/Hugo
Kevin Perry   Perry Broadcasting, Oklahoma City/Tulsa/Lawton
Kevin Potter   KWON/KPGM/KRIG/KYFM, Bartlesville
Ty Tyler   Tyler Media, Oklahoma City/Tulsa
Ex-Officio Members
Wendy Brunner OBEA President Oklahoma City University



1948 Matt Bonebrake Oklahoma City
1949 Bill Hoover Ada
1950 George Tarter Enid
1951 Joe Bernard Oklahoma City
1952 Chub Bellatti Stillwater
1953 Allan Page Lawton
1954 Bob Enoch Oklahoma City
1955  Frank Lane Tulsa
1956-57 Leo Morris Lawton
1958 Pat Murphy Enid
1959-60 Tom Johnson Oklahoma City
1961  Frank Lane Tulsa
1962-63  Jim Bellatti Stillwater
1964-65  Bill Morgan Norman
1966-67  Lee Allan Smith Oklahoma City
1968  Bill Weaver Shawnee
1969  Ken Greenwood Tulsa
1970  Ed Ryan Woodward
1971  Ross Baker Lawton
1972  Hewel Jones Oklahoma City
1973  Bill Platt Stillwater
1974  Fred Thompson Bartlesville
1975 Glen Burke Durant
1976 Ron Blue Tulsa
1977  Allan Muchmore Ponca City
1978  Jack Brewer Chickasha
1979  Tom Parrington Oklahoma City
1980  Jack Cresse Tulsa
1981  George Wilburn Altus
1982  Woody Woodard Oklahoma City
1983  Ed Montray McAlester
1984  Ron Kirby Lawton
1985  Ben Hevel Tulsa
1986  Carl Smith Tulsa
1987  Harold Wright Anadarko
1988  Richard Adams Ardmore
1989-90  Jim Smith Oklahoma City
1991 Dick Johnson Weatherford
1991  Lee Salzberger Tulsa
1991-92 Doug Williams Woodward
1993  Ed Smith Guymon
1994  Bill Katsafanas Oklahoma City
1995 Bob Clark Ardmore
1995-96 Dan Bates Tulsa
1997 Miles Chandler Oklahoma City
1998  Larry Patton Lawton
1999  Chuck Morgan Lawton
2000  William Donahue Tulsa
2001  Vance Harrison Oklahoma City
2002  Pat Baldwin Tulsa
2003  Bill Coleman Ponca City
2004  Pat Bryson Tulsa
2005  Wes Milbourn Oklahoma City
2006 Roger Harris Ada
2007 Brent Hensley Oklahoma City
2008 Kevin Potter Bartlesville
2009 Dan Lawrie Tulsa
2010 Lee Anderson McAlester
2011 Mike Taylor Lawton
2012 Kevin Perry Oklahoma City/Tulsa/Lawton
2013 Bill Hurley Oklahoma City
2014-15 David Griffin Oklahoma City/Tulsa